Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Apr 6, 2011, 2:37 AM   #1

Default New Lens for a New member

Hello friends,

I just joined this group and have been watching this group for some time and was amazed how members are keeping it so live.

Also the images what is shared here are truly amazing and thought i should be part of this group.

I am a newbie on photography and have had olympus C765 UZ for some years and thought will give try on DSLR.

I currently have Olympus E620, 14-42mm standard kit lens. Have been thinking of having my lens upgraded, I went online and some how I got struck with Zuiko 50-200mm 2.8 - 3.5 SWD and got it delivered yesterday. Was a big buck on my pocket and my wife almost got on the way to kill me

But somehow i managed to have it in my hand and to be frank i am not sure if i would have to have it, reasons are

1. I have to still learn more on Camera itself.
2. I should have got a lens with less focal length (12-60 or similar)
3. Should a newbie like me deserve such a good lens?
4. Lens is Front heavy on E620.

What do you guys think? I would love to hear comments or suggestions from friends like you.

Anyway I tried to shoot on my new lens and have posted it here for your comments and suggestions.

Nice being on this forum once again.
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 6, 2011, 7:11 AM   #2

Hi,

Good morning, congratulations on getting the E-620 and the 50-200mm lens.
They will serve you well.

Yes the 50-200mm lens is heavy, 995 grams and, on the E-620 will feel a bit front heavy, at first. Especially in comparison to your existing camera. The 40-150mm lens would probably be a more comfortable alternative.

Having said that, the 50-200mm lens is in a class of it's own, in terms of image quality. It s a fine performer and renders very sharp, high quality images.