Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Apr 10, 2011, 8:05 PM   #1

Default AFL footy images

Hi Friends,
I had a good trip on the footy match.

Shot all of the images with Olympus E-620 with 50-200 attached. As said earlier I am a newbie and need some serious improvements.

All I am worried about is just the images are not sharper as i would have expected. Is there a technique or me doing some thing wrong? If you guys could shed some light on the sharpness. Also these images are straight out of camera resized to 1024x468.

Here are some images from the album.

http://shaperweb.com/mg2/index.php?id=743
http://shaperweb.com/mg2/index.php?id=698
http://shaperweb.com/mg2/index.php?id=491
http://shaperweb.com/mg2/index.php?id=515
http://shaperweb.com/mg2/index.php?id=604
http://shaperweb.com/mg2/index.php?id=541

Give some advise where should i improve...
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 11, 2011, 6:29 AM   #2

The sharpness is about what I'd expect - the problem is your subjects are filling up too small an area of the frame. You want your subject filling about 2/3 of the vertical frame - your subjects are filling half that. Besides resolving additional detail, framing the shot much tighter will result in more accurate focus. Note: when I say the subject needs to fill at least 2/3 of the frame - I mean IN CAMERA, not cropped later. I would also recommend using a single focus point if you're not already. When using multiple points the camera (any camera) can get confused as to which object is your subject. When you use a single focus point and have the subject filling 2/3 of the vertical frame it's pretty easy to keep the focus point on your subject.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2011, 7:12 AM   #3

Hi,