Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Apr 17, 2011, 8:35 PM   #1

Default Walk Around the Woods (7-14)

I under use this lens, and I'm not very good with it. Went out with the dogs with only the 7-14 with me. Dogs had a blast!!!

The dog's noses get real long in the corner at 7mm

If you just stop, sooner or later the dogs will come back to see what's up.

Nice clear running stream....

Another....

Ummm, not so clear here. Rum...

The aftermath with Dox (this is at 14mm) I cropped the thing to get rid of the flare, but made a boo-boo. There was a blue spot that I cloned out too.

And the old guy, Rev. (also 14mm, square crpped and cloned the flare spot)

https://dogsportphoto.smugmug.com/
fldspringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 17, 2011, 8:41 PM   #2

Hi Greg,

Looks like you and the dogs enjoyed a perfectly lovely Spring day.
I never realized how much distortion the 7-14mm can produce. And, the last image has a fair amount of flare in the lower right. Otherwise, tack sharp.

Good to see you posting again.

Zig

So you want to be a better photographer? Open your eyes and take a look at what is all around you.
zig-123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2011, 9:16 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by zig-123 View Post
Hi Greg,

Looks like you and the dogs enjoyed a perfectly lovely Spring day.
I never realized how much distortion the 7-14mm can produce. And, the last image has a fair amount of flare in the lower right. Otherwise, tack sharp.

Good to see you posting again.

Zig
Straight line remain straight, but there is alot of perspective distortions. The straight lines can be moved my tilting the camera up and down from level, and focus also moves the lines. Its a quirky lens, but it can be fun.

As to the flare, yep. If I would have shielded the lens with my hand, it wouldn't have been an issue. The clear water stream pics were being shielded from the sun.