Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old May 23, 2011, 7:18 AM   #1

Default Investing in lenses Vs. a better camera

The people in this forum have really been helpful in making decisions easier for me as far as the camera equipment goes so here I am again asking for a rather objective advice.

I have been using the E-510 for nearly 2 years now and was really happy with its performance. Until just a few weeks back when I was traveling to Malaysia and had the chance to shoot amazing images in a rainforest and a few other places that had true potential for great photographs, I felt short. The E-510 couldnt focus in low light even at ISO 1600. I had to take almost 80% of photos at ISO 1600 due to the tropical weather of Malaysia and the rainforest setting and honestly the results were disappointing. I was also limited by the lenses. I still have the two kit lenses 14 - 42mm and 40 - 150mm plus the 70 - 300mm.

I had decided on the trip that I want to upgrade. Here's my dilemma. I purely shoot for personal pleasure and photography has become a real close to heart kind of a hobby. So I’d like to invest in this hobby further for better results. I couldn’t decide though on what to upgrade. Here are my options:

1. Sell the E-510 and the two kit lenses. Retain 70 – 300mm. Purchase E5 with 14 – 54mm. (approximate out of pocket expenses PKR 100,000 = USD 1,200)
2. Sell the two kit lenses and retain the E510 and 70 – 300mm. Purchase 14 – 54mm. (Approximate out of pocket expenses PKR 35,000 = USD 400)
3. Sell the complete Olympus system and get into either Nikon or Canon (this would be a more expensive solution and not my preferred choice)

If I go with the second solution, I will have the option to buy 12 – 60mm SWD and this is where I also seek your advice. How would the E510 + 12-60mm combo work out? For 12 – 60mm, I will have to spend close to USD 700.