Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 25, 2012, 4:04 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
HarjTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,534
Default AF woes .. 35-100F2 + E3 @F2

Took the E3 + the beastie out for a test run a few days ago and shot at F2. Noticed the AF was way off even with IS set too off. Here's some sample pics

SAF, Central AF point all shots pre-focused and then recomposed. All pics low res jpegs OOC. THink 50%+ of teh pics taken were OOF.

1. Focus point was on the man's head sitting on the wall



2. Focus point is on the top right hand corner of the first wooden frame. I thought there was enough contrast at that point for the AF not to miss focus.



3. Focus point - the tallest broom



4. Focus this time was on the lady presenter face - shes stationary at this point and had been for at least 10 secs.



5. Focus point - the mans face

HarjTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 25, 2012, 9:11 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,066
Default

I had woes from time to time too

Sometimes I got out of it by swapping a battery,
I cant explain why but when I did it seemed to be OK again.
Ive also learned that hot swapping lenses creates real AF issues for me

hope you can work it out Harj
Rriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 1:44 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Lordje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Harelbeke, Belgium
Posts: 761
Default

Seems hard to get a proper focus if I understand good.
Did you test this also on another body, is it the same effect then?
__________________
One photo out of focus is a mistake, ten photo out of focus are an experimentation, one hundred photo out of focus are a style.

Nikon D800, Olympus E-500
Lordje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 2:35 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
HarjTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,534
Default

I was pretty shocked at how many OOF images I was getting. I was expecting to get a few when shooting wide open but what I actually got was unacceptably bad. The camera simply wasnt able to focus on the first guys head even though he was stationary for several minutes before moving on. Luckily I was just on a recce and testing to see what the output at F2 was like on a more regular basis.

Riley, I didnt try changing batteries as the one in the E3 was fully charged. I reseated the lens twice just to see if that helped and checked to see what it was like with IS and Focus limiter on/off but it didnt seem to make any difference. Also had the dreaded shutter not firing as well.

I'll need to do some more testing with both the 14-54 and the beastie to see if its the same or not.
HarjTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 9:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
gjtoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Louisville, KY, USA
Posts: 6,938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarjTT View Post
I was pretty shocked at how many OOF images I was getting. I was expecting to get a few when shooting wide open but what I actually got was unacceptably bad. The camera simply wasnt able to focus on the first guys head even though he was stationary for several minutes before moving on. Luckily I was just on a recce and testing to see what the output at F2 was like on a more regular basis.

Riley, I didnt try changing batteries as the one in the E3 was fully charged. I reseated the lens twice just to see if that helped and checked to see what it was like with IS and Focus limiter on/off but it didnt seem to make any difference. Also had the dreaded shutter not firing as well.

I'll need to do some more testing with both the 14-54 and the beastie to see if its the same or not.
You may want to try cleaning the contacts, too, Harj.
__________________
Gary ---- "The best camera is the one you have with you."
<><~~~~~~~~~~~
Pentax K-70 ~ Panasonic FZ1000
My Gallery

--
Hebrews 13:3
gjtoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 9:27 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Scouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Camano Island, WA.
Posts: 2,328
Default

I've never used the E3 and the only trouble I've had like this is 'pilot error' Putting the lens or the camera on MF. Feel stoopid but it happens.... Just sayin.

Good luck!
__________________
Ken.
"You are who you pretend to be."
Kurt Vonnegut Jnr.
Scouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 5:08 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Dangerous Brian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 140
Default

I agree with gjtoth, sometimes removing lens from body and reattaching cures it. I have had to do this at a few weddings, and switching off and on is always a quick reset.
p.s just hope it was just a glitch and nothing serious.
Dangerous Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 7:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Steven R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 5,910
Default

I've not had that problem, so not sure what to guess. My first thoughts were like the others, make sure the lens is seated correctly and that the contacts were clean. I am curious about one thing, You noted that you focused on a spot and then re-composed while holding the shutter half down. You should perhaps do a new test and focus and shoot without delay. Does it focus correctly it that situation, or does it repeat the OOF problem. I'm assuming that you are receiving the red dot and beep on the spot that you are focusing.
Steven R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 5:24 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
HarjTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,534
Default

Hi guys Reseated the lens - yep .. I did that when matters weren't improving. The AF wasn;t able to lock onto the guy in the first pic at all and when the cam did say it had a focus lock on his head (think 5th attempt) it wasn't. All of the other pics the E3 was showing AF lock (I have the sound off so nobody notices it) and they all were out of focus. I've taken some shots today with the same battery and I need to check and see how they are but from the LCD they look infocus.
HarjTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 7:38 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,066
Default

have a look on the bottom of the camera
have you got all the screws in the tripod socket Harj

Ive noticed sometimes when I use mine on a tripod AF goes a little odd for awhile, done anything like that lately?
and both screws have dropped out of mine. This is directly below the AF sensor, maybe that has something to do with it
Rriley is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:38 AM.