Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Feb 22, 2014, 9:08 PM   #1

Default Photo Editing software recovery

Hi, all

One of the main reasons I haven't been posting for a while has to do with Micro$soft's announcement that WinXP security updates won't be supported after this April. So I was building a pair of Win7 computers (one laptop, one desktop) to replace my 2 XP machines.

Well dunno how long you've been using your XP computers but I've been using my XP desktop box for many years. Building a new one with all the software I had on it took a loooong time. THEN, when I was almost finished, the computer gave me the dreaded BSOD, repeatedly. My trusted repair guys couldn't fix it, just reformat and reload the OS. I was so bummed out I didn't even touch it for 2 months.

So I've started over. This required that I reload major expensive software like PShop CS6 and DxO, so I had to ask them to free the respective Keys so I could re-install them.

The reason I'm posting this is that it was very straightforward, not what I expected. If you plead and grovel and tell them what happened, everyone was very helpful. Even the big companies like Adobe have a heart.

Another point I'd like to make is that the big boys are moving away from offering a system to purchase and over to SaaS (software as a service where you pay a monthly fee). PhotoShop CS6 is the last version you'll be able to purchase and the word on the street is that Office 2013 is the last one from Microsoft.

I work in the corporate business world and often work from home so I do need M$office and sometimes PShop at home. If you're in that situation you should consider getting those apps while you can. If you don't need PShop I'd recommend you look at the Corel graphic apps, which I would have bought if I didn't need the big name apps.

Ted
tkurkowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 22, 2014, 9:16 PM   #2