Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Jul 7, 2004, 12:23 PM   #1

Would someone please go through the steps on how to take a close up shot of an object on my E20. Everytime I attempt this, I just get a blurred image.

Please don't laugh:shock:but I am not an expert on this. I just want to take some close ups of objects, like a watch dial for instance, without any blurred images.

Christo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 10, 2004, 6:58 PM   #2
Administrator

The E20's Macro mode coverage is from0.2 to 0.6m so be sure you are within this range. I cannot stress enough how important it is to have the camera on a tripod, handheld macro shots are nearly impossible unless in very bright light withvery fast shutter speeds.

With camera on tripoduse "A"perture priority mode, stop the lens down as far as it will go (biggest aperture number). Manually set the ISO speed to 80, the lower the ISO, the lower the image noise. After getting the subject framed and making sure it is within the focus range - set and use the selftimer to trip the shutter - do not manually press the shutter release. Even the slightest movement will blur macro shots, the depth of field is shallow and the magnification is high so you want the camera rock solid when the shutter fires.

Happy shooting :|
steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2004, 7:25 AM   #3

I'm surprised you say that macro shots are difficult to hand hold. Bearing in mind that the camera is very close to the subject a small movement of the camera doesn't translate into a large movement of the image, as would be the case if the subject were a long way away. So it should be easier. I always hand hold macro shots and I don't see any camera shake. I'd suspect that the E20 focusing mechanism is to blame here, or the camera's too close to the subject.
Technophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2004, 4:41 AM   #4