Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 12, 2005, 11:42 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
grainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Hi, I have a Olympus E300. Last week I bought a microdrive (hitachi 3k4-4) for my camera. but when I insert it the red led blinks some seconds and then I can read "Card error" in the screen.It's strange because for the Olympus web site this card is compatible.Somebody help me?

Thank you
grainy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 12, 2005, 3:30 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Hi Grainy. I use an IBM 340 and an Hitachi 1gb in my E300 and have had no trouble with either at all. I assume you have tried to format the drive from within the camera, or I hate to suggest are you putting it in the right way with the label facing the back of the camera, pressing the drive in firmly and shutting the slot cover, you should hear it click when it closes.
Clive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2005, 1:15 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
grainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Now I found where is the problem.
The Olympus site says the microdrive 3k4 series is compatible but it's a mistake.
In this site http://www.hitachigst.com/hddt/situd...6?OpenDocument
you can see that only 3k6 series is right for E300.

poor me and my money
grainy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2005, 2:05 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
grainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Please Clive.

Can you say me your Hitachi microdrive model type ?
In the side back of microdrive you can read the model type, it's a long alphanumeric code.

Thank you.
grainy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2005, 3:18 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Hi Grainy, happy to oblige, ModelSCM-11000
Other numbers on the microdrive are as:-
On the barcode KHPP7558 36C
P/N: 07N4071
I hope the above are of some help
Clive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2005, 3:22 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Hi Grainy again, seems that somehow I managed to get that Smiley in the wrong place. Model Number should read: ModelSCM-11000
Clive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2005, 3:25 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Anyone tell me why these Emoticons are suddenly appearing where my D should be?
Clive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2005, 3:42 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
grainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Thank you very much to Clive and his likeable pursuer smiley .:lol:
I came from Italy, close to Venice.
If you want to see my e300 gallery this is link:

http://www.ifotografi.it/album_perso...user_id=100640

My nick name here is BlackPixel anyway is me.
If you have a link please give me.

Thank you very much again.
grainy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2005, 5:00 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kendal, Cumbria UK: the English Lake District
Posts: 60
Default

I had real problems with reliability on a microdrive. I concluded, after taking advice here, that the thing had been dropped and broken. I'm not entirely clear why I went for a microdrive when high capaciity cf cards were available, but I won't do it again.
slioch is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:08 AM.