Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Feb 19, 2006, 6:30 AM   #1

Hi all,

I'm a newbie, thinking of buying an E-500, and I need some advice on the lenses.

I need to know what is meant by 17.5-45mm, and 40-150mm.

Also, Olympus say equivalent to 35-90mm and 80-300mm because of the 4:3 system?

What I am really asking is how do I work out the actual optical magnification offered by the lenses expressed as a "times n" type of figures?

I would like around 10x optical zoom for bird photography, would the 40-150 lens achieve this?

Please excuse my ignorance.

YorkshireBill.

YorkshireBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 19, 2006, 8:30 AM   #2

First, FORGET things like 10x...they don't mean anything! It's only the difference between the wide and telephoto positions on the lens. I can have a 20mm-200mm, a 26-260mm, or a 38-380mm, and they are ALL 10x lenses.

Now, measurements in mm mostly refer to the 35mm equivalent film camera lens. A C-700 camera is said to be 38-380mm but that's the 35mm film camera equivalent...in reality it's 5.9-59mm and that's due to the smaller CCD size when compared to the size of a frame of film. Digital camera users use 35mm film equivalents so that there's a common frame of reference...the C-700 was a 5.9-59mm, the C-750 was a 6.3-63mm due to having a larger CCD, but they were both 38-380mm equivalents.

In 35mm film terms, the human eye is about 50mm, so at that adjustment the camera sees like you do. If you go higher than 50mm you are going towards telephoto or zooming in, bringing things closer. If you go less than 50mm you are widening the scene or moving things away.