Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Apr 9, 2006, 1:35 AM   #1

Hi,

Does anybody know how to 'lock' an aperture opening on a lens for E-series DSLRs? Something like depth-of-view preview. I'm a newbie to SLRs and I'm using aE-330.

I'm currently fooling around with reverse lens photography but I'm having trouble with the very shallow DOF and I'm not sure how to first adjust to aperture to be smaller and leave them that way before I remove my lens (a 14-45mm F3.5-F5.6 kit ZD) and turn it the other way around.

Thanks in-advance for any answers or suggestions.
cjtune is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 9, 2006, 4:31 AM   #2

As you know, the aperture is adjusted using the switch (dial) in the body, based on electronic communication between body and lens; without that communication, I don't know if it would be possible to adjust the aperture at all.

Norm in Fujino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2006, 1:15 AM   #3

It is not possible with the electronic 4/3 lenses...they are designed to stay opened until the shutter triggers. Also, all aperture control is done on the body and not the lens (don't know if the Leica 4/3 lenses with a lens aperture control will be any different).

For this type of photography you'd have to use a manual lens that has the ability of closing down the aperture off the body...not to mention you'd also need the macro ring adapter AND the corresponding 4/3 ring that will attach to the macro ring adapter.

For 4/3 there are easier alternatives for macro/closeup photography.
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2006, 12:20 PM   #4

It's possible! Got a tip from aCanon-wielding bloke: just press and hold downthe DOF preview button and then remove the lens -lens aperture is left at whatever f-stop it was previewed at.

Now I've got to get a good external flash... increasing f-stops to get better DOF for macro makes everything darker.