Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old May 15, 2006, 8:24 AM   #1

Hi

I took the gamble and bought from Cameta Cameras an ex-display (whatever) e 500 twin lens kit on ebay. Cost $567 plus $71 overseas delivery to France plus French customs duty. The total was still much less than in the EU. I updated from a Fuji s7000. Everything in kit looked unused. I am a novice so have been using full auto with mixed results. Most of the time I get excellent shots, but then in same conditions I get over exposed shots. Is this a fault or have I missed something?

Regards

Sean
seanb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 15, 2006, 8:55 AM   #2

It has been mentioned in at least a couple reviews I've seenof this camera that the sensor has no "shoulder" or ability to hold detail on the far end of thehighlight side of the image, meaning you need to be careful to not overexpose your images. Truth is that applies to all digital cameras- overexposure is the last thing you want to be doing with any dSLR's or digicams, but the E-500 just seems to be slightly more prone to blown highlights if you aren't careful in making your exposure.

Sometimes it doesn't take but just the slightest compositionaladjustment to completely change the metering of certain scenes, and add to that the fact that ESP metering, while excellent, is still just like any other multi-segment metering system- you never quite know what part of the scene isbeing given priority in the determination of exposure. If you want to be sure you know what part of the scene you are metering you might want to change the metering to centerweighted for a while and see how that works. At least you can control what part of the subject is being given priority as far as metering goes.
Greg Chappell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2006, 6:33 PM   #3