Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Jun 22, 2006, 5:38 PM   #1

I'm a total rookie with SLR photography and all opf my photographic experience has been with a Kodak DX-6490.

I have this incredible desire to learn about serious photography and bought the E-300 with the 14-54 lens.

The point and shoot is nice with this lens but I'm into learning how to set up shots manually.

Additionally, I shoot alot of outdoor photos and have a need to really reach out and touch my subjects, usually using the full 10X optical, 3x digital and additional 2x lens on the Kodak.

Now I want to have the same reach with the E-300 and don't mind having to set the shot up manually.

I plan on buying an adapter and 500mm lens or greater to get those shots.

Any input or wisdom on what I need or want to get these shots is greatly appreciated.

mksmith713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 22, 2006, 7:54 PM   #2

Ok, here's what I'm thinking....

Get a whatever to 4/3 adapter....They seem to be available for most lenses.

Then I can get a 80-400mm or somewhere in that neighborhood lens.

Maybe add a tele=convertor when necessary and that should suit my needs as well as being a learning experience.

Am I on the right track or am I way off in my reasoning?
Old Jun 22, 2006, 7:56 PM   #3

Welcome aboard,

Now you have wider lenses than your old Kodak and brighter too. Your Kodak has longest reach equal to 380 mm (35 format) with brightness F/3.7. Your options depend on your pocket. If your budget so tight, you can buy EZ 40-150/3.5-4.5. This lens is shorter than your Kodak and slightly dimmer, but your E500 has much better ISO performance than your Kodak. Used EZ 40-150 can be found @ USD 150. This lens deserves much better price than that. It has very excellent performance/value.