Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Jun 26, 2006, 9:50 AM   #1

Hi, I am totally new to DSLR world, but I am sure that I want one :lol: . I have been using old Oly Camedia 3020 3.1 mp point and shoot, and now that I find myself in need of a better camera I am thinking about E-500 kit with 15-45 and 40-150 lenses. But there are some "drawbacks" that really concern me. The first one is that noise at high ISO (800-1600) because I love photography in very low light, so Nikon D50 is also "on my mind".

So the question wuold be, since I have heard some rumours like "you just don't get those options in other cameras", what options are superior in E-500 if I compare it next to Nikon D50?

And also what is E-500 shutter release limitation?
Finally, your practice with high ISO and low ligh would be appreciated.

Sorry for my english

Thanks in advance
Verloc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 26, 2006, 11:29 AM   #2

If low light shooting is your thing, I'd go for the Nikon. Although both cameras are great, the Olympus just doesn't have a strong point in low light shooting, though a lot of people have shot very usable pictures at high ISOs. My personal experience with low light shooting is that Nikons are better at it, this is between an E-300 and a D70. I also like the fact that Nikon uses an AF lamp on their camera instead of illuminating with the flash, since your subjects may find the flash illumination a bit annoying. An external flash would fix this issue though.

One feature Olympus has that Nikon doesn't is the dustbuster. It does add a bit fo time to startup, but by the time the camera is at your eye, dustbuster has done it's thing, the extra startup is never a factor for me and the benefits of dustbuster outweigh any added time.