Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Jul 6, 2006, 1:49 PM   #1

The two lenses I am comparing are the
Olympus EP 50mm f2.0 1:2 Zuiko Macro E-1 Evolt Lens
and
OLYMPUS 35mm f3.5 Zuiko Digital Macro Lens

the first is in the $400-500 price range, the 2nd in the $200-300.

The first one says it has a min focussing distance of around 10", but how is that macro? I want to be able to get super close to something to take a macro shot, and 10" seems kinda far away from something. and what is the 1:2, does that mean what I take a shot of will be half the size of what it really is. I'm trying to find something that I can take the best macro close ups with, for a good price, (under $500) and was looking to get some clarification on the big differences of these two lenses, and how the 50mm is so much better :-).
sorry if this is a confusing post, but I am a newbie ...first post. take it easy on me guys . thanks
dapoopta is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 6, 2006, 4:19 PM   #2

The first is f/2 and second f/3.5. That is two stops better.
mckennma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2006, 4:34 PM   #3

that would be obvious from the descriptions i listed above. and how did you get 2 stops better from f2 to f3.5, would it not be 1.5? what type of benefits would the stops get me?
Old Jul 6, 2006, 6:41 PM   #4

The 50mmF2 is one of the highest tier, professional quality lenses made by Olympus. The "ED"suffix in the lens designates an element of extra low dispersion glass. The lens is one of their weather-sealed, dust proof, water proof lenses.

Yes, the close focus distance is about 10". But remember that the Olympus 4/3 system has a 2x multiplication factor on the focal length. So a 50mm lens in the 4/3 system is the equivalent of 100mm on a 35 mm camera. In other words, it's a medium telephoto. 10" with a telephoto lens is darn close.