Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Jul 11, 2006, 12:47 PM   #1

I have been shooting tiff ever sinced I got my E300's... this is for archival reasons. wouold I experience a better IMAGE result if I were using the RAW format? sometimes the exposure and image quality at max settings for TIFF have been a little uninspired, I want to be wow'ed by my shots. Of course I imagine opperator error has partial blame.

Peace
Schu
Schu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 11, 2006, 3:43 PM   #2

Schu-

I you are willing to go through the learning curve and storage drain (very much like your TIFF format images), RAW could be a much better alternative for you, because by using RAW you can essentially re-take the photo in your computer.

MT
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2006, 4:23 PM   #3

Yes I think so... I have been designing and or using PShop for for over 20 years, so I am well versed... I just dont know about the RAW format as I am used to film and fairly new to digital. What are the differences from TIFF and RAW formats? are tehre more channels in RAW? or do folks use raw for the fact that it is slightly smaller file?
Old Jul 11, 2006, 7:45 PM   #4

TIFF is basically just like JPEG, but without any of the compression and the end product is a "finished" file. All of the camera settings, from sharpening to white balance to contrast, etc., are used in the creation of the final image, but when it's processed, since none of the compression takes place, you are left with HUGE files.