Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Jul 14, 2006, 1:40 PM   #1

I am going to Malaysia leaving monday for vacation. I bought the camera knowing I'm going on this trip even thought I wanted it for some time.I am relatively new to this rig and I wanted to know if anyone feels I will need a second battery ... I should have about 3 days between charges during my trip...
adamwarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 14, 2006, 3:41 PM   #2

I always carry a three batteries and a storage device. I will be taking a Wolverine MVP 60GB and Hyperdrive 60GB to Europe. I can get about 7500 RAW E-500 pictures on them. I have two Sandisk Extreme III 2GB CF to rotate.
mckennma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 4:50 PM   #3

mckennma wrote:
Quote:
I always carry a three batteries and a storage device. I will be taking a Wolverine MVP 60GB and Hyperdrive 60GB to Europe. I can get about 7500 RAW E-500 pictures on them. I have two Sandisk Extreme III 2GB CF to rotate.
Ditto. Just got back from 12 days in Paris with my E-300. Ihad 4 1GB cards and took over 1400 images, downloading each evening into a 40GB Wolverine image tank. I also took three batteries and I'm glad I did. Everytime one pooped out it was in the middle of the day. I have mine numbered and use them in rotation.
Greg Chappell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 5:02 PM   #4

It would help if you said what camera you own, as different cameras have different battery life.

You can save power by not continually using the LCD monitor. The E-300 (and probably E-500) are capable of 400 shots on a single charge. If you use the E-330 using live view a lot, you are going to get less shots.

Personally I wouldn't go on a trip without taking at least two batteries (I own four).
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 7:27 PM   #5