Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Aug 17, 2006, 2:28 PM   #1

Hi all

I finally bit the bullet and ordered an E1 + 14-45mm lens today. I've been learning with my Pana FZ10 for the last 2 years and had been looking to get the Lumix L1 but I'm going to give version 1 a miss for now. I'm planning to upgrade the lens to the 14-54mm and then basically stick to using that with the E1 and use my FZ10 for long range stuff.

Now what I'd like to know is what are the best settings for the E1 - does it over or under expose ? What colour settings do you need to set for say contrast, sharpening, etc etc. Are there any known problems and say weakness that have workarounds. Any help with this will be really appreaciated.

Cheers

HarjTT

:O :|

HarjTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 18, 2006, 6:49 AM   #2

Good plan on the 14-54 upgrade. Also, look to the 40-150. Low cost (on ebay for a song) and I'm very pleased with mine (see the post aboutsaid lens in this forum). Everyone setsan E-1differently. If you're shooting RAW it really doesn't matter. For JPEG, I'll tell you what works for ME (not an overall endorsement). Sharpness +1, contrast 0, saturation +1. I don't boost any of the colors, use sRGB color space, noise filter & reduction off (I use Corel Paint Shop for this). I also, in most cases, engage the setting that will not allow the camera to fire unless focus lock is confirmed.

Happy shooting!

stowaway7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2006, 10:48 AM   #3