Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus Micro Four Thirds

Old Aug 19, 2010, 10:38 AM   #1

Default New to photography

Hello all.

I am a photography noob and new to this forum but I have been lurking around for awhile.I just got my new E-PL1. To be honest my decision to buy this camera was based on feedbacks and shots posted on this forum. Most especially on thread by shoturtle displaying the comparison with the other DSLR model(forgot which one it was).

I would like to get some hardware with it but with budget into consideration, I can only buy one at the moment. I am torn from getting either a VF2 or a nice zoom lens. I would like to do building shots here in NY and a nice zoom lens is nice but the usefulness of the VF2 cannot be ignored either. I would also like to do some macro shots and I read somewhere that a zoom lens would suffice just fine for macro so I am putting on hold buying a macro lens.

So in saying all that, please help me decide which to buy first lol. Should I buy the VF2 and stick with the kit lens for awhile (i dont mind walking closer to get my shots) or get a zoom lens and get those shots really not accessible by walking closer to it?

Last edited by Hyunkie; Aug 19, 2010 at 10:41 AM.
Hyunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 19, 2010, 10:56 AM   #2

Are you comfortable using the back LCD to compose and shoot? The longer the zoom you use, which means more magnification and need for a steady hand, the more steady you need to be able to hold the camera. I need an eyelevel finder for shooting longer lenses and/or shooting closeups. It's just easier for me to steady the camera if I can have it up to my eye, and the finder gives a better view outdoors in open daylight.