Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus Micro Four Thirds

Old Feb 6, 2011, 5:32 PM   #1

Default New E-PL2 Owner and some photos

Hi,

First I want to thank Wes for turning me onto the camera and Zig for helping me pick out the extra lens (40-150). I got it from Olympus and found a 10% off coupon on the net. Here's the code: reg8855 I found ordering from Olympus to be great. The discount code was nice and their shipping charges were cheap compared to what I'm used to paying to Hawaii. I received the day after ordering it. Pretty good!

I'm stoked to have this camera after using a cheap point &shoot for the last few years. This is my first Olympus product and I think they did a great job in making it pretty easy to use for a guy like me.

I'm a novice and don't have a clue about ISO, etc. I've been playing with the settings and took a bunch of photos to see what the different settings would do.

I uploaded the photos here.
https://picasaweb.google.com/superdavehawaii/Picasa?authkey=Gv1sRgCO6Xl8P0iKGjpAE#

In the middle of the group I took some photos of a guy on a stand up paddle board. That set was all done in iAuto with the default settings. I was surprised to see how much the color varried between photos.

Even though the new display is brighter I find it's not ideal in the sun...so I ordered the EVF. At some point I'll get a more powerful zoom since the bay I live on is about 1.75 miles wide. There's a US Marine Base across the bay and a lot of cool stuff happens there...along with all the water activities.

I'd be curious to know what settings you guys like to use for general beach / water shots.

Also, I need an extra battery (BLS-5). The Olympus store is out of stock and it's kind of pricey at $60. I would appreciate any suggestions you might have for an alternative.

Thanks,
Dave

Last edited by Super Dave; Feb 6, 2011 at 5:36 PM. Reason: mistake
Super Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links