Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus Micro Four Thirds

Old Jul 20, 2011, 8:00 PM   #1

Default Issue with Canon FD adapter and E-PL1 display

I did a quick search, but found nothing addressing the problem I have encountered, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I recently purchased an E-PL1 (awesome camera, BTW; I like it better than my E-510!) and several Rainbow Imaging lens adapters (Leica 39, C-mount, Canon FD). The first two adapters work great, but every time I mount the Canon FD adapter with any of several different Canon lenses I own, the live view remains dark -- I can still see the camera settings, but nothing else. Any ideas?

I am planning to return the FD adapter (purchased through Amazon) and will try a Fotodiox version, but I'm hoping someone here can help. I'm no newbie when it comes to photography (film or digital), but this issue has me stumped. Thanks for any suggestions.

Bubba

Last edited by bubbagump; Jul 20, 2011 at 8:01 PM. Reason: update title
bubbagump is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 20, 2011, 10:53 PM   #2

not sure if it is the adapter, what f-stop do you have your fd lenses on, are they working properly? Did you try setting the FD lenses to the widest aperture of each lens?
Old Jul 21, 2011, 5:09 AM   #3

I have a fotodiox adapter & it does the same thing on my e-pl1, to fix it I just remove the adapter & re-install it. if that does not work try twisting it a little to make sure the lens lock on the camera is engaging, this usually fixes it for me.
Charles
cshanaberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2011, 7:54 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoturtle View Post
not sure if it is the adapter, what f-stop do you have your fd lenses on, are they working properly? Did you try setting the FD lenses to the widest aperture of each lens?