Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus Micro Four Thirds

Old Oct 23, 2011, 10:38 AM   #1

Default E-PM1 - Kit lens for portraits/close ups?

Hi all,

I'm completely new to interchangeable lens cameras and about to buy a E-PM1. Looking for lens advice - thanks in advance!

Wondering if the kit lens (14-42 mm) will be good enough for new baby close-up purposes? It looked quite good in store, and I was hoping to get away without buying any additional lenses.

Just saw a good price on a telephoto lens (40-150 mm, 1:4-5.6 R). I wouldn't have thought this would be good for close up portraits, not knowing any better, but the description says 'perfect for close-up portraits or long distant scenes'.

Appreciate any comments on this, thanks!

kelly99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 23, 2011, 11:19 AM   #2

The longer 40-150 and the kit lens makes a good combo. With good lighting and the longer zoom, you can take some nice portrait shots with a little bit of shallow dof. The 14-42 does a nice job for casual shooting and landscape shots.
Old Oct 23, 2011, 12:34 PM   #3

Thumbs down

Hi,

I'm not sure if you're aware, but Olympus is running a promotion now through the end of the month.

If you buy a Pen system, you can buy the 40-150mm lens for an additional $99.00USD.

Here's the link:
https://us.buyolympus.com/digital-ca...hirds-pen.html

Zig

So you want to be a better photographer? Open your eyes and take a look at what is all around you.
zig-123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2011, 12:37 PM   #4

The 14-42 kit lens would work fine for what you want to do. What you need to budget to buy first, rather than a second lens, is a better flash. The little clip-on thing Olympus sells with the E-PM1 sits way, way, WAY too close to the lens axis. You are going to wind up with a lot of flash shots where the light is both too contrasty and there's going to be tons of redeye issues with human subjects.