Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus Micro Four Thirds

Old May 28, 2012, 8:37 PM   #1

Default EPL-1, OM 50mm, flower macro

I was fooling around with some macro shots using my old 50mm OM lens and some extension tubes. This was shot at f/11 trying to get as much depth of field as possible. I selected the angle of the shot to try to get the bug and the pistil in the focal plane. Serendipitously, I also got a little red mite in the focal plane (upper left).

This is the full frame, but I downsized it to 1008x756 pixels and compressed it to fit the forum limits of 1024 pixels and 253.9kb. I also increased the saturation and contrast just a bit.

The flower is a local wild flower called "cats ear", which is all over my yard right now.

This is my first attempt to post photos here, so we will see if I got it right.
Attached Images

D B Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 29, 2012, 5:52 AM   #2

Hi,
I'd say you got it quite right. Very nice image indeed.

Zig

So you want to be a better photographer? Open your eyes and take a look at what is all around you.
zig-123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2012, 6:25 AM   #3

....hi DB,

As Zig said, you have it down ok. This is a really nice image of a wildflower I've never heard of. Interesting and the extra critters are always a bonus.

.......he likes Olympus, Apple MAC & SmugMug best of the choices; he likes that he has choices

boBBrennan.smugmug.com
boBBrennan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2012, 9:37 AM   #4

Shooting macros with MF lenses is always very tricky but in a way, it gives the photographer a lot of control over the focus point. When shooting with AF macro lenses, most of the time the camera will focus on a spot that it is not quite what you have in mind. You did very good capturing what you intended.

Tullio
Tullio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2012, 9:12 PM   #5

Really nice shot.