Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Jun 10, 2003, 5:46 PM   #1

Default Need help with camera choice - Oly c2100uz, c4000z, or HP850

Hi all...

New to posting but have been doing a lot of research here in the last couple weeks. I am looking for a new digital camera (our sony mavica fd85 having died) and think I have narrowed my search down to the Oly c2100uz (if i could find it), the Oly c4000z, and the hp850. My main subject matter is my 18mo old son, both indoor and outdoor pictures, still and action shots. I'm a novice photographer but I want something that will grow with me as I learn to play with settings. I wanted at least 3mp, minimal time between shots, and a continuous picture/burst mode, and priced less than $500. My main priority is picture quality, though, and from what I've read, the c4000z is exceptional in this area (especially with indoor photos). My only other limitation is that I don't want a canon (husband works for direct competitor). Any advice would be greatly appreciated...

thanks in advance

carla
aidansmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 10, 2003, 6:21 PM   #2

I am an Oly C4000Z user now for several months. Each time I use it I'm able to use some new feature, like the histogram that tells me if my exposure is in the ballpark, or the manual focusing inset that pops up in the LCD. I use a Photosolve LCD Xtend-a-View (www.photoslove.com) attached to the LCD. This makes the Oly just as if it was an SLR of sorts. The LCD then becomes my information central. The rechargeable batteries last several hours in this shooting mode.
There are many others visiting this forum that know more about your other possible choices but IMHO I think that Olympus gives more bang for the buck.