Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Jun 18, 2003, 1:53 AM   #1

Default Teacher for Lens?

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post. I'm so glad to have found you. I have a olympus C-700 and Canon es75 video cam. I have been trying to buy wide angle and tele lens w/filters for the c700. I can't find the outer ring size of the camera. All the numbers are starting to really confuse me. 45.6-52mm, 45.6-55mm, 45.6-37mm? I know I need a tube adp. What size? Can anyone explain to me the focal length difference? Is there a standard size that I should use? When it states 55mm is that the back or front of the lens ring size or lens size? :roll:
I went to the local camera shop and he couldn't or wouldn't give me this info., he just wanted to sell me what he had. I'm not a professional, I just really like to take photos and video and make home movies etc... (DVD"s).

I would like to use the same lens on my video cam which I think has a 46mm ring. This way I will not have more stuff to carry. :lol:

Also, just to be a pain in you know what! What is better the new optic glass or crystal. Any brand you would recommand?
Azlayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 18, 2003, 8:16 AM   #2

45.6mm is the outside diameter of the lens. A 45.6-55 adapter adapts the camera for 55mm filters. a 45.6-52 lets you use 52mm filters. Olympus sells an adapter tube for this purpos, its 45.6-55mm. I already have 52mm circular polarizer, etc. for my SLR, so I ordered a 45.6-52 adapter from 2filters.com. Can't advise on tele/wide adapter lenses except that I doubt you will be happy with clarity.

http://www.2filters.com./
cope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2003, 8:17 AM   #3

Default Addtional source for telephoto info