Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Jun 27, 2003, 11:56 AM   #1

Default C-740 Problem?

I have recently purchased a C-740 and am confused by the "ALL RESET" function. If I have it set to "OFF" and set a resolution while in "P" Mode and turn the camera off and then on in "Auto" Mode the resolution defaults not only in "Auto" but in all modes. I would think that resolutions set in other than "Auto" would be retained until I chose to change them. I talked to Oly Tech and was told to send it for repair. I sent it to NY and they called and told me that it was normal operation. According to my interpretation of the Reference Manual the settings should stay as selected. I am relatively new to digital so maybe I just don't understand the function.
bcarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 27, 2003, 12:37 PM   #2

Should have talked to the people who actually know the camera first, the people who actually use it!

The way it works is whenever you power on in Auto mode, the camera does do an "all reset" no matter what. If you power on in any other mode, *if* you have the "all reset" off it will retain your last used settings.

This is where My Modes come in handy...you set your favorite presets so the camera starts on the same settings every time.

I use the C-700 which only has the one My Mode (called 'Custom Reset') which I set my favorite apperture starting point, zoom position (50mm), etc.

- Check out the Oly_C-700 Yahoo Group for users of all C-7x0 cameras, 700/720/730/740/750, http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Oly_C-700/
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2003, 1:23 PM   #3

Thanks for the info Mike. I guess there isn't anything wrong with the camera. I understand that in "Auto" the camera selects all settings but I don't understand why it "erases" the resolutions set in the other Modes. I can live with it but it doesn"t make sense to me!!! Thanks again, Dick