Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Mar 24, 2007, 2:12 PM   #1

Hi all, I am a newbie here.. I have been using a C2100 for travel pics for years. I was interested in the 550 but some of the "not so good" reviews have me kinda gun shy on buying it.

I think most reviewers have a more critical eye than I do. I guess my question is, Would a person that has been mostly happy with the quality of images from a C2100 be happy with travel pic quality from the 550? I have many 8x10 prints from my C2100 on my walls. I would think the 550 would do better, even with it's shortcomings. Thanks for your help.

Later, Murf
stevens8330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 24, 2007, 5:04 PM   #2

stevens8330 wrote:
Quote:
Hi all, I am a newbie here.. I have been using a C2100 for travel pics for years. I was interested in the 550 but some of the "not so good" reviews have me kinda gun shy on buying it.

I think most reviewers have a more critical eye than I do. I guess my question is, Would a person that has been mostly happy with the quality of images from a C2100 be happy with travel pic quality from the 550? I have many 8x10 prints from my C2100 on my walls. I would think the 550 would do better, even with it's shortcomings. Thanks for your help.

Later, Murf

it's hard to find a perfect camera eh? I don't own 550 but i have Olym C2000(1999) and C765(2004). All i can say is most good brand4MP+ camerasare good for 8x10 prints.

but if i were you, i 'd waitto have a look atSony H7/H9 ($479 for H9 not too bad huh). They got much better continuous shot(they claim 100 shots, 2.2fps, 8MP (max) ),better flash range(Range: 0.2 - 9.8m (wide) 1.2 - 6m (tele)),and face detection. but shorter 15x zoom than 550(550 got better look).

Cheers,
caddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2007, 8:54 PM   #3

I had Olympus 700UZ and 750UZ. I think 550 is 36.5x better then 700UZ and 25.3x better then 750UZ. :lol: