Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Sep 30, 2003, 5:28 AM   #1

Default Help! Did I kill my new camera?

ops: I'm a newbie grandma with her first digital: an Olympus C-3000ZOOM. It was working perfectly until I did a bad bad thing - forgot for a split second the info. in the TINY note at the bottom of page 36 which says: "do not turn on the power without removing the lens cap first", and did precisely that. (It is not a problen to do so with my camcorder). I only wanted to erase a pic and was not intending to take a photo so simply forgot to remove the lenscap. In a half second I realized my mistake and turned the camera off, but electricity, being far faster than myself has done ????? and now the camera seems completely non-functional. Could some kind soul explain to me what has happened and advise me as to what I should do after I finish kicking myself into the next time zone? So far I have only tried the "P" and the " :arrow: " on the mode dial, nothing else. Many Thanks! PS: I'm not a complete idiot...some of my parts are missing. GREAT Website!
smilynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 30, 2003, 12:38 PM   #2

First remove the lens cap (in case the camera powers on).

Then open the battery door for a few seconds (to reset the camera) and then close the door.

Try powering on.

By the way, what batteries are you using? Have you tried a fresh set (if you are using alkalines, they don't last very long).
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2003, 11:34 AM   #3

Default I killed my brand new C-3000ZOOM

Thanks for your quick response, Mike! Before I read your message I tried one thing. I took the included CR-V3 lithium batteries out and tested them. The results were 2.8V and 2.7V respectively. Put them back in, closed the door, took the lenscap off, tried the "P" and the " :arrow: " settings on the mode dial again and it still won't power up. Any further suggestions?