Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Sep 3, 2002, 10:44 PM   #1

Default to buy or not to buy ????

I am a newbie to digital cameras. The only camera I currently own is a manual slr (minolta x-700).. unfortunately, i no longer have free convenient access to a darkroom, film, etc, and i love instant gratification.. but i digress....um, oh yeah.

I have a friend who owns an Olympus c 3020. She bought it about six months ago and didn't abuse it. However, now she wants another camera and is willing to sell it to me but we have yet to discuss the price.

Should I go ahead purchase the camera from a friend or should I go bid on ebay from someone w/ a good reputation, of course.

the reason I am asking this is b/c initially I had my heart set on an Olympus c 3000, not 3020. And if I bought on ebay, I could get the 3000. ANY advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Oh, and I also read somewhere online that both of these cameras are meant only to store pics and view them off of your computer, and look horrible when you actually print them out on paper b/c of the dpi (or something, i don't know the term). Is this true? b/c if it is, i'll have to start my search all over again!
blackandwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 4, 2002, 12:36 PM   #2

The last bit is rubbish. Either are as good as any of the same resolution (3 MP) with prints. Good prints up to 10x8".

If you can get a good price on the 3020 I say buy it - it's a very good camera.
steve6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2002, 12:41 PM   #3

B & W,
If you really want the 3000, you can get direct from olympus at great price and no worries about condition , warrenty or anything else.
Gary

https://emporium.olympus.com/innards...ub_category=22
Gary Senkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2002, 4:45 PM   #4