Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Jun 14, 2004, 1:55 AM   #1

Hi everyone!

I just recently bought an Olympus C-310 Zoom (aka D-540 in US) digicam. I am a beginner in digital photography so bought this entry-level unit. Thereis no resource I could find about the cons of the C310, butonly their attractive features for its price.

This is my second day of use of the C-310... testing its functions. I got to switch the monitor off and and gota fewpictures. I forgot what to press to bring back the monitor on, so I pressed anything... til i got it back on. Unfortunately, it displayed the only themenu and it simply stopped responding on the button clicks.

I dint know what to do next. After a few minutes, I tried powering it off just to restart. It didn't turn off even when the switch was in "off" position already. I panicked! The lens was still protruded and the C310 just completely hanged-up. I had to remove the batteries just to restart it again.

Anybody gotany ideas as to what happened?
staracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 15, 2004, 12:36 AM   #2

...just to add...

I was able to find a "customer" review of the said unit. Her's is a D-540. (the same make of the C-310) She experienced the same problem within a week after her purchase. It also "frozen-up" on her on several occassions when the LCD monitor was turned off while in shooting mode. Here's the link of that review...
http://www.circuitcity.com/display_r...es=33&No=0