Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 17, 2004, 4:07 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Hi everybody, just bought a c8080 and is very pleased with my love so far. ButI really suck at shooting macro with this cam. The results are all very "blurry", not at all as sharp as my brothers minolta a1. Any tips on how to take a good macro-shot? Do i really need to buy a tripod?
Pyjamasfunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 18, 2004, 2:17 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mikefellh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,707
Default

There's more than one way to cause blur in a picture, out of focus, and camera shake.

The thing about macros is a small movement of the camera can translate into a large movement in the picture. The A1 does have anti-shake image stabilization, but you can take handheld macro shots without it. The secrets are more light which can give you a higher shutter speed.

With the 8080, make sure you have macro (or even super macro) turned on. Also macro modes do have their limits for distance.

The problem is we can't see what you're doing wrong without knowing what settings you've used, so those need to be posted.

Just to show what can be done, the following is a picture I took with a C-700 with a special lens for closeup photography called a diopter (it's not really necessary, but I like it)...the zoom (which again is for this lens) was at 300mm which isn't easy to handhold in low light, but again this is for example what you can photograph just holding the camera:

http://img4.photobucket.com/albums/0...up/uspenny.jpg
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2004, 3:02 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Okey, thanks for giving me the basic knowledge! I will take a walk today and try to shoot some flowers, I will report back if succeed of fail!



Until then, ta-da! =)
Pyjamasfunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2004, 12:12 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
John G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 248
Default

The cameras settings by default will not take macro shots.
I hate to ask this but...did you put the camera in macro mode ?
John G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2004, 4:19 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Default

You might want to read up on this article by Tomshardware.com



http://www20.tomshardware.com/consum...701/index.html

Hope this helps.. basically talks about the good and the bad about the Olympus c8080


Ritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2004, 4:26 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Just wanted to show off my latest macro!



I am getting better each day now! =) Thanks for all your help!

http://www32.brinkster.com/jockethor...er_blomma2.jpg
Pyjamasfunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2004, 5:39 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Default

One thing you must do in macro and especially super macro is to use manual focus.

I have been finding this pretty difficult using either the EVF or screen (EVF is best). But through perseverance you can get some pretty darn fine closeups.

Have a look here for some shots I have taken using the C8080 in just a few months of owning - I'm pretty pleased with the hover fly photos !


http://www.usefilm.com/member/steveb



Steve (UK)

Steve B is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:37 AM.