Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Jan 13, 2005, 5:04 PM   #1

Hi everyone,

I really like to buy this camera, but when I read all these things about auto focus problems, it makes me think twice. Also, I found on this site

http://gna.customer.netspace.net.au/...pusC8080_1.htm

that the camera has problems getting to focus on infinity at manual mode when lens is set to wide or medium focal length. It focuses on 3m, this person claims, and a person on Amazon.com also had this problem.

I have some experience with a digital camera as a friend loaned me his Sony F717 for a while. That lens, even at wide aperture gave really good pictures - really sharp - and focusing was always dead-on. Manual focus was also very good because you could zoom in, manual focus, and zoom out while keeping the correct focus distance. I really like the Sony design but unfortunately the F828 has serious problems with chromatic aberrations - the F717 did also, despite the fact that both cameras have Zeis lenses.

I really want to buy the Olympus because the lens design is the best out there - for a digicam. But I really need good focus control. At least tell me that the focus can be locked at infinity in manual mode!
John F. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 13, 2005, 8:49 PM   #2

This is straight out of the camera. Just resized without sharpening. f/8 1/s focused to infinity in full manual modewith the c8080wz.
Attached Images

Keyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2005, 2:05 AM   #3

Keyman wrote:
Quote:
This is straight out of the camera.* Just resized without sharpening.* f/8 1/s focused to infinity in full manual mode*with the c8080wz.
So no one has any problems going to infinity on manual mode?
Old Jan 14, 2005, 3:00 AM   #4

Dear John F.,
There is no problem with focusing if one knows how to
use the camera properly.