Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Jun 3, 2005, 1:56 AM   #1

I am a newbie who, yesterday morning, went out and purchased the Olympus C-725 Ultra Zoom digital camera. I really liked it, but could not come to terms with the finely dotted optical viewfinder. It did have a diopter (I believe that's what it is called) adjuster wheel, right next to the VF, which would allow for image focusing, but would do nothing for that 'peppered' window. I thought that something was wrong with it, and returned it. I then bought the Olympus C-5500 Sport Zoom camera, which seems to be a nice little unit. What I am about to now include may seem somewhat strange, but the C-5500 - which is a 5.1 megapixel camera with a 5X optical zoom - did not take as good a picture as the C-725 - which was a 3.1 megapixel unit with an 8X optical zoom. I utilized them both in simple point & shoot fashion, with the C-725UZ (as said above) being the winner. I didn't think to check the specs, but could it be that the 725UZ has a better lens than the C-5500? Or that 'optical zoom' has more meaning & importance than megapixels?