Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Dec 30, 2002, 9:34 PM   #1

Default shq or hq

:? hi i am new to this web site but so far i love it i just bought the olympus c-4000 wich is better than i could ever have imagined so far i only have one question is there much of a picture quality difference between shq and hq i just bought a 128 sm card and can hold 50 pics in shq or 145 in hq (3:2 ratio) and was wondering if i will lose much qaulity by using hq mode and getting obviously more pics. how big can i print with my hp5550 in each mode
thanks.
mattjac33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 31, 2002, 5:04 AM   #2

Well, use the trial and error method, shoot a half dozen pics in hq and then again in shq, view them on your monitor and then, the biggest test, print them out and let your eyes be the judge...personally, I shoot everything in shq, download the pics to my hard drive and then erase the card and start over...for the best image, every now and then I use the Tiff setting, but that is rarely...Blessings, Johnny
marcoangels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2002, 12:03 PM   #3

I have not been able to see any difference between the HQ and SHQ on the monitor or when printed on Kodak Ultima Picture Paper. I stick to HQ except for the occasional TIFF.
rmae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2002, 1:05 PM   #4

I shoot in the HQ mode and receive excellent results. I shot some pics in SHQ and HQ and was pressed to tell the difference.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2002, 1:54 PM   #5
lg