Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Jun 23, 2005, 6:09 PM   #1

I have a Fuji F10 as a pocket camera and I love it. I also have an Oly C-7000 which I intend to sellso I can purchasea wide lens camera. I have narrowed my choices to the Oly 7070 and the Canon S70. Both are 7 mp cameras but Canon is much more compact and the Oly is larger. Of these two, which offers the better image quality? The Canon costs more, but is it worth the extra cash vs. the Oly 7070? And is the Oly really very bulky to handle? :?

I am a newbie but I am eager to learn more and my goal is to become a serious amateur/enthusiast. Any advice would be appreciated.
Justinian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 23, 2005, 11:14 PM   #2

Hello Justinian: I researched several wide angle cameras extensively before I got my Olympus C8080. (No regrets - I absolutely love it!) I narrowed my final choice down to the C7070 and C8080, and each had their strengths.

As to some of the differences between the C7070 and the Canon S70:

Resolution settings choices: 5 on the S70 vs 8 on the Oly C7070

Lens: slightly wider and longer on the Oly: S70=28-100mm vs Oly 27-110mm.

Macro: S70 macro to 4cm vs the Oly's closerfocus to 3cm.

White balance overide controls: S70 = 7 + manual vs Oly 9 +manual.

Metering modes: S70 = 3 vs Oly = 4

Storage: S70 = Compact Flash only vs Oly =both Compact Flash +xD.

Uncompressed modes: S70 = RAW only vs Oly =RAW or TIFF.

I don't think you would be disappointed with the C7070.

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0501/05...ly_c7070wz.asp

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/C7070/C70A.HTM

Good luck in your search.

Steven R.

Steven R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2005, 10:28 AM   #3