Click Here!!
gmlasam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 18, 2003, 9:57 PM   #2

I've got two of those...

Still like my old AE-1!
rych26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2003, 12:13 AM   #3

Yup, those Canon AE-1 are great!!! To this day, they still take great photos. I'm looking for a dedicated 35mm slide/film scanner to allow me to transfer some 35mm slides and negatives taken with my Canon AE-1 cameras.

Any suggestions? Flatbed scanners, I heard do not work well with scanning slides and negatives. Must use a dedicated 35mm slide/film scanner that are designed only to scan slide and films.
Old Mar 19, 2003, 12:26 AM   #4

I can't help you...I'm a newbie at the digital stuff and need to get better at it before I start trying to scan in my old shoeboxes full of negatives and slides.

But in the future I'll probably be in the market for one of those scanners as well.
Old Mar 19, 2003, 3:03 AM   #5

Flatbed scanners don't work for scanning slides unless you have a transparancy lid/device. There are dedicated slide scanners, but most are expensive. One of the more affordable ones is the Primefilm 1800i/u/silver series (you can usually find one of these models at Costco) which scan at 1800dpi optical, or one of Primefilm's more expensive models like the 3600Pro (scans at 3600x3600dpi optical). Check out http://www.scanace.com/en/product/product.php
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2003, 4:34 AM   #6

Thanks for the info...pretty expensive...do you think that they'll drop in price over time, as most things do?...I would think that there'd be a pretty good demand as dig photography continues to grow.

Do you have any info on hardware that will sort out my shoeboxes full of negatives? :lol:
Old Mar 19, 2003, 5:58 AM   #7

Default Scanning Slides

For scanning slides I found a surprising solution:

Using the Super Macro feature, the 4000z camera turned out to be a perfect high resolution slide scanner.