Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Mar 20, 2003, 8:15 PM   #1

Default Olympus C4000 OR Minolta 7hi

Hi all! I am new to the digital photography scene and I'm trying to figure out which camera will best suit my needs. I own the C4000 and am very happy with the photo quality. I'm not so much concerned with the difference in megapixels between the 2 cameras, but I do like the 7x optic zoom that the 7hi offers. I guess I'm trying to get some input as to what I should do. If I sell the C4000 and get the 7hi, am I getting a superior camera? Or should I just stick with the C4000? I wish there were one camera that was hands down the choice for everyone, but of course, each has their weaknesses. When I read the specs, the 7hi offers more than the C4000, but what about the difference in final product? Anybody's help would be appreciated!

Thanks
tgrwoods6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 20, 2003, 11:15 PM   #2

Depends one what you want, and the price you want to pay. The Minolta Dimage 7Hi is a more advanced camera, its an SLR type, like the Olympus E series camera. If you want or you pefere taking photos through the eye viewfinder, then the Minolta would be a better buy. The C-4000 is a different type of camera, its a rangefinder and it does not have EVF. It all depends what you want. The minolta is about double the price of the C-4000.
gmlasam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2003, 6:28 AM   #3
NHL

If the extra buffer, sync terminal, or wider color space are not needed, then the 7i is similar to the 7Hi for much less! 8) 8) 8) http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/v...?p=36389#36389
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2003, 1:47 PM   #4

Default Olympus C4000Z vs Minolta Dimage7Hi