Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Mar 30, 2003, 11:01 PM   #1

Default Olympus C5050 with Kingston 512CF

I just purchased a new C5050 camera (my second Olympus) and a kingston 512 CF card. I have been using it for a couple of days now, playing with all the different shooting modes, and just learning the camera. I have captured and erased many pictures, and even formatted my card a couple of times on the camera just to test it out. I have been using digital cameras for about 4 years now.

Yesterday I took about 50 family pictures and I noticed the camera started acting funny. One time when I turned on the camera to view pictures, it wanted to re-format my CF card. I of course said power-off instead and turned the camera off and then on again. Then it seemed to be working fine. I took a few more pictures, and it started up again. This time it wouldn't let me take any pictures, once again complaining about the CF card, but then the camera would not turn itself off. I would turn the switch to the OFF position, but the camera would stay on and it seemed to be locked up or frozen. I cycled the camera on/off a couple of times, and changed the shooting mode dial a few times, and finally I got it to turn off. (don't remember exactly what I did though, I was in kind of a panic.)

So today, I came home from my trip, and for a third time, when I attempted to view the pictures on the camera, it complained about my CF card and would not turn off. Now, it will not work at all with the CF card. Everytime I try to view the pictures, or take pictures it just goes to the FORMAT screen. When I switch over to the XD media, it works just fine, and has always worked just fine with the XD media card.

I then attempted to remove the CF card and install it into my USB reader, and my XP machine just says the card needs to be formatted. I can not get either the camera or the PC to read this card.