Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Apr 1, 2003, 11:43 PM   #1
SSD

Default Olympus 740UZ Released?

I was under the impression this camera had not been released yet. It appears to be available and for sale at CircuitCity.com.
Does anybody have any info on this and the camera such as Low light performance? (indoors-kids,pets)

Please excuse my ignorance. I am a newbie trying to educate myself to make a good choice in a digicam!
Thanks!
SSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 2, 2003, 7:41 AM   #2

The 740 is due out in April (750 in May) so if it isn't in stores yet it will be soon.

There is a review with samples at:
http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/C740/C74A.HTM

Of the two, I'd prefer the 750 because of its ability to use an external flash.

Anyway though, if you are really serious about low-light photography (and you don't intend on spending over $300 for the Oly FL-40 flash) you may want to look at one of the other Olys with a focus assist beam. Digital cameras require a certain amount of light to focus, and one of the biggest complaints about the C-7x0 series is it won't focus in low light. If you don't need a long zoom, you may want to look at the C-5050, or one of the older Olys that has a focus assist beam (you may save some money too). Only look at the C-7x0's if you need a long zoom.
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2003, 9:09 AM   #3
SSD

Mike,
Thanks for the reply. Do any of the Olys with the low light assistance have a longer zoom? I would like both if that is possible.
Thanks again!
SSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2003, 9:51 AM   #4

The only ultra zoom (UZ) camera that had a focus assist beam was the C-2100UZ. The other Olys that has focus assist are around 3x zoom.
Old Apr 2, 2003, 11:29 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_PEAT