Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums >

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 25, 2006, 9:40 AM   #1
Junior Member
yar1964's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8

Has anyone bought from this company, great price, but not certain of this company, could not find themlisted with resellerratings.com. Pictures shows silver, would want black, but it doesn't show color in any descriptions or contents that come with the camera. Think I will pass and when ready will buy from someone that I am familiar with.

Just wondering anyone thoughts on this company.

yar1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 25, 2006, 10:00 AM   #2
Senior Member
genece's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,111

have a look here


Buydig is OK

genece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2006, 10:04 AM   #3
Junior Member
reklaw's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26

go to Google and search for BBB New York or NYBBB or any phrase that will get you to the NY BBB site. There they will have customer complaints etc.. Some of the NY shops are noted for loading a sale and if you don't agree they are "out of stock" "Buyer Beware"!
reklaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2006, 10:15 AM   #4
Junior Member
yar1964's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8

Thanks for the replys must have type it in wrong when I did the search at reseller ratings, by the looks of it not a good company to deal with. Will check out buydig.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Keep forgetting to check the better business will try to remember them when checking on a company

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Thanks again
yar1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2006, 10:17 AM   #5
Senior Member
tclune's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,093

I made the mistake of trying to buy a camera from these guys once. They contacted me to try to sell me a battery at inflated prices to go with the camera (their version was grey market and had nothing with it -- as far as I could see, they weren't even willing to sell it without selling me a very expensive third-party battery, etc.) I will never order anything from these guys again. I was just glad that they agreed to cancel my order without it becoming a major hassle. Apparently, not all people who cross their path are so lucky.
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2006, 11:10 AM   #6
Senior Member
digcamfan's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,422


It is your choice but you may want to consider spending a bit more for a lot less grief!

I recently bought an FZ30.

The vendor is topnotch. The second batt I bought with cam was dead otta da box and they have already credited my account for it.

PM me if you want the vendor.

Steve does not want us to name names of vendors though often it is done.

Get an FZ30 soon :-)
digcamfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2006, 11:22 AM   #7
Junior Member
yar1964's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8

Thanks for the info tclune will be looking at other vendors.

Don't want to learn the hard way it's nice to have these avenues to use, makes for better consumers.


Didn't realize we were not suppose to list vendors, thanks for the heads up, will make note of it. I have the fz20 which I am very satisfied with, some nice features added to the fz30 for which I am considering. Income tax check soon, what better way to spend it :-)
yar1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2006, 6:30 PM   #8
Junior Member
JMK1964's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22

This is an interesting read. Beware of Brooklyn !!!!:evil:


Heres the store front for J and K Photo


JMK1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2006, 9:43 PM   #9
Senior Member
smilez03's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 287

When shopping for my FZ20, I came across similiar low priced sites. Be VERY VERY VERY aware of these places. From what I found...

- Some places want to charge you for the battery charger, or sometimes even the battery that's supposed to be included! Make sure you know exactly whats in the box.

- Many can be "Gray market" items (no USA warranty)

Also........ when trying to get Circuit City to match prices, I printed off a few of those Brooklyn stores (as they are local for me here) as well as B&Hto try to get a cheaper price. The manager explained that when he called the Brooklyn store, they had no actual storefront and ran the operation out of their apartment. They did however, match the B&H price (as B&H isa reputable dealer.)

I agree with the other members, SPEND A LITTLE MORE AND SAVE THE WORRY.
smilez03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2006, 11:25 PM   #10
Senior Member
rduve's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,504

I actually happened to talk tobestpricecamerastoday after placing an order for a Minolta Maxxum 5D DSLR camera body which they advertised for $385. They call back to "confirm" the order, but really only to upsell you on a bunch of stuff. They take out the battery and charger, for example, and then try to sell it to you separately for "only $169." A 3-piece-filter kit (UV, polarizer, and warming filter) which should go for about $30-40 is "reduced from $699 to now only $499." They are criminals, stay away. I, of course, immediately cancelled my order.

I recommend buydig.com for a good price, hassle free service and fast, free delivery.
rduve is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:46 AM.