Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums >

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 29, 2007, 1:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2

Hello Everyone,

My name is Joe, and I about to buy my first SLR...which Rocks. I am looking at this Handsome Rebel XTI with a sexy Canon 17-85 IS USM Lens. My question is, have any of you guys ever heard of the company I am considering buying from?


I want to do all of my research before I make my purchase, and this company seems to offer pricing well below everyone else that I have seen for this product. Not only do the item prices seem to be really good...but they carry a ton of accessories to go with my camera.

So I came to the pro's at steves-digicams.com to get the skinny on this company, before I go lay out $1,000 on my new camera. And maybe to get some opinions on their business, if any of you have had past experiences.

I really am looking forward to buying my new camera, the money is almost burning a hole in my pocket. Everything I have read so far sounds positive, and I'm just looking for that last, "Yeah, their pricing is low, and the items are as promised..." kindof statement, before I go ahead with my purchase.

Thanks for your comments in advance,


Average Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 29, 2007, 2:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
genece's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,111

Well I think you posted in the wrong forum but while they claim their stuff carries a USA warranty the price seems to be a little too low........makes me wary.

ANd their return policy states up to a 35% restocking fee.......I would avoid these guys........But I have no personal experience with them.
genece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2007, 9:30 AM   #3
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2

Thanks for your help, See its good to know what to look for.

I may have to give them a call, payday is comming up, and thats when I plan on making my purchase.

So I have a couple of days before I actually BUY from http://www.shopdigitalcorp.com but at least you pointed me in the right direction.


Average Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2007, 9:38 AM   #4
Senior Member
Telecorder's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 490


A good place to check for 'assurances' of web-based vendors is at--


Having said that, it appears the firm is new and has a very limited feedback as yet...


Bottom line... Caveat Emptor... Pay w/credit card to have some leverage over purchase disputs and document all communications/promises etc...
Telecorder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2007, 5:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
happy_peasant's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,048

You can check out places with the Better Business Bureau online. Steve's has a What Camera Should I Buy Forum and I have seen people talk about good vendors there. For something expensive I would personally use an established company with a better return policy.
happy_peasant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2007, 5:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
tcook's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,703

This are a couple of reputable vendors with a pretty good price. There are a number of other good vendors out there so I would not take a chance with one with no track record. Many of them are owned by the same company just using a "store front" with a different name and they are usually bad news.


tcook is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:04 PM.