Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Oct 31, 2006, 4:14 PM   #1

Greetings to all fellow panay users,

I am fairly new here, have been reading some posts since last week and this would be my very first post.

I have decided to give myself an early christmas present - FZ7, before this I was a Canon S45 user for 3 years. The camera will arrive in a couple of weeks.

I would like to add a wide angel adaptor to shoot landscapes.

Based on research from this site, I am trying to decide between Olympus WCON 0.7 and Raynox HD 6600 0.66. Of the two, the Raynox is only slightly more expensive than the Olympus. Raynox has front threads for 72mm filter while the Olympus wcon has no front threads. So, for the timing being I am leaning towards the Raynox as I figure it would be useful to use the circular polarizer for landscapes. I am a total newbie on this, so please let me know if my logic is correct here.

Thanks in advance
Eric L is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 31, 2006, 10:00 PM   #2

I would not worry about the Filter....Its my guess it will cause vignetting with a polarizer.

But I do not have a FZ7 to try it on. WA lenses for the most vignette with a polarizer
genece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 9:58 AM   #3

Most WA lenses are designed to cut back on glare caused by light coming from the extremities. Using a polarizer on a WA lens will also cause color variation in the sky because increasing the vista will cause different polarizing affects at the image edges then in the center area. As Gene mention putting any filter on the DCR6600 will cause vignetting. Also if you purchase a polarizer for your standard lens a circular polarizer is the wrong and more expensive choice it should be a Linear Polarizer (PL).
LoveLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2006, 12:08 PM   #4