Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Nov 14, 2006, 6:59 PM   #1

Hi! I'm a novice but I like to take photos. Besides the obvious subjects of scenery and flowers,I take lots of photos of the grandchildren in rooms with relatively low light. I also like to have the option of cropping a photo and still being able to get a good 8x10 image. I like the idea of having optical image stabilization which has turned mein thedirection of the Lumix.

I now have an Olympus C740 which I like very much, but I really want at least a 6mp camera. For some reason Olympus doesn't seem to get it with regard to optical stabilizer. Anyway, I looked at the Z7 today and it appeared that in the "AUTO MODE/SIMPLE MODE", where I feel most comfortable...I don't believe it allows you to upgrade the quality of the photo.

Right now, my Olympus, in the AUTO mode, will allow me to upgrade from normal to super quality with the click of a button. The downside is that it reverts back to the default mode after the camera is turned off. So...my next camera...must have both optical stabilizer and the ability to upgrade photo quality in the AUTO mode...and I would love it if it didn't default but waited until I personally return it to default mode.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Martie
Tackettm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 15, 2006, 9:13 AM   #2

Tackettm wrote:
Quote:
I take lots of photos of the grandchildren in rooms with relatively low light.
Quote:
I now have an Olympus C740 which I like very much, but I really want at least a 6mp camera. For some reason Olympus doesn't seem to get it with regard to optical stabilizer. Anyway, I looked at the Z7 today and it appeared that in the "AUTO MODE/SIMPLE MODE", where I feel most comfortable...I don't believe it allows you to upgrade the quality of the photo.