Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Nov 17, 2006, 11:42 AM   #1

yup, i'm a newbie here.....please bear with me.

what are you owners of the FZ 7 doing to combat the noise level of your pics?

thanks for your help
joe vt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 17, 2006, 12:07 PM   #2

I don't own an FZ7 but with the FZ30 what I do is avoid low light conditions, use ISO 200 at the most and a good flash for indoors shots.
jotajota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2006, 5:17 PM   #3

Match the basic ambient light level to the ISO selection & your pictures will turn out so good that you wont even want or need noise post processing. All of this takes practise. Shoot at low light levels till you get the hang of it. (Practise taking photos when there's at most a 100 watt bulb in the room; took me easily 3 months of shooting in low light including indoor stage performances to begin to get the hang of low light. The keys are leaning how to select the ISO, shutter & EV setting combination for the available light/situaton - a tip is that the PANY underestimates the available light plus its priority is to minimize ISO; now I can get almost great PIXes in near total dark (eg across a room when the subject is light with only a 40 watt bulb, tripod not needed)
sdromel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2006, 6:21 PM   #4

PS: The other day I dusted off my OLY C-2100 (classic UZI in mint condition) which I didnt use since owning the PANY. (I will be attending a wedding next week & have been elected as a photographer.) After trying both PANY & UZI (indoor low light no flash) the PANY is able give much better photos (again you must know how to operate the PANY for these conditions). The PANY blows away the C-2100 for sensitivity in low light. (Again, the trick is selection of proper ISO, shutter speed & EV combination for the available light.)