Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Nov 28, 2006, 12:20 AM   #1

As a freelance writer, I am sometimes called upon to take a photo now and then whena real photographer can't make it. I have had the problem of not being able to shoot in TIFF format, which is what most editors seem to want. The FZ7 looks like a good and relatively inexpensive way to go for what I need. The 12x zoom could be useful too. Anyone with experience in this area? Should I just get a DSLR and be done with it? I don't really want to pack around a bunch of photographic gear if I don't need it. Thanks.
2bitwriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 28, 2006, 3:11 AM   #2

Although I love my fz5 and think no worse about the fz7, I 'm not shure the fz7 will be a good choise, nor any other pana. It depends on the quality of the image your editor will want, but in low lighting this quality (imho) will not be enough.

Again (imho) the pana is then even the best point and shoot you can get so ... a dslr might be what you need.

If you're really just starting I would take a look at the K100d of Pentax. The price with kit lens is about 700$, 6 MP, 3200 iso (workable to 1600) , and the shake reduction is real nice.
The sony a100 also has shake reduction,10MP, 1600iso (workable to 800 but the is much noisier.)
Oh yes the Pentax K10d, around 1000$, shake reduction 1600iso (but because of no real reviews not knowing if this is complete workable) (ps the one I'm upgrading to)

I only take those 3 camera's out because they are the only one's with shake reduction in the body, and after using a Pana I wouldn't have any without it.

Ronny

rhermans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2006, 11:41 AM   #3

you didn't mention what sort of photography you might be required to do, and that can make a big difference. what kind of subjects? what lighting? indoors or out?

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"