Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 30, 2007, 11:09 AM   #1

Gentleman,

While new to this forum, photography has been a lifelong interest. About 5 years ago I graduated to digital and currently use a Panasonic DMC-L1 and the DMC-FZ50. I consider both to be exceptionally fine cameras, largely attributed to the Leica optics. I also find much of the banter about excessive noise to be almost meaningless. We all use some type of post-processing (myself, Photoshop CS2) so if the noise is so offensive it's easy to remove it. Perhaps many fail to realize that the smaller image sensors that make 12X optical zoom possible, also contribute to the increase in noise. I consider this a fact of life. Increased noise reduction techniques, while lowering noise, will inadvertaintenly slightly soften the image. Yet, at an 8x10 I can't see the softening.

Looking back to the days of shooting Tri-X or high speed Kodachrome the grain they exhibited isn't that much different than noise we experience at higher ISO's with non-digital SLR cameras. Back in those days, we didn't have Photoshop, and we accepted it without all the complaints. But now to my question.

So even with all my years of experience, I'm totally in the fog when it comes to understanding the "dpi" spec and how it relates to printing.

· My Panasonic's create a photo that when viewed in Photoshop show a resolution of 72 d.p.i. Using that number, if I multiple the horizontal and vertical pixels by 72 I come out with a theoretic size that seems too large to be possible.

· When I print this image (from Photoshop) I usually wind up only printing a portion of the total image. Of course, I can resize it and the entire image gets printed.

· My understanding is that printers, in general, use a standard of 300 d.p.i. Commercial printing services, like Costco, recognize the photos at 72 dpi and automatically convert them (or resize?) to 300 dpi.