Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Mar 6, 2007, 8:27 PM   #1

Hey all, this is my first time posting on the forums. I just purchased an FZ50 the otherday and it is enroute. (I have been happily shooting with an FZ15 for the last two years.) I had a few questions regarding the camera.

-First, I am considering either the SunPak 383 or Olyfl36 external flash, and I was wondering if it is worth the extra expense to even get an external flash. Just how much of an improvement are these over the integrated flash? I have not been very happy with the flash quality on the FZ15, but if a low-end external like the 383 will only offer a slight improvement, I would rather not waste my money.

-I am also looking for a good case for the FZ50. I would like to be able to carry the camera, lens hood, a couple filters, battery+charger, memory cards and card reader in as compact a case as possible. I don't really need room for any conversion lenses at this point. Can anyone reccomend a good case that has worked for them? Possibly one of the Tamrac Adventure models?

-I know I could probably search to forum for this question, but are their any SD cards that I should avoid for the FZ50? I am looking for at least 133X 2gb, any reccomendations?

zonaphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 6, 2007, 9:13 PM   #2

I know of no card 2gb or smaller that has any trouble with the FZ50.

The 383 is a much better flash than the built-in flash.......but I would think that a dedicated flash would be worth the cost.

I can not help with the case.....I can not find cases large enough, I am sure you will have no difficulty finding a small case.
genece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2007, 11:09 PM   #3

I am using the SanDisk 2GB Extreme III SD card with my DMC-FZ50 and love it. It is very fast - especially when recording those 20MB RAW files.
photogary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2007, 8:06 AM   #4