Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Dec 4, 2007, 3:44 PM   #1

I finally decided on which camera to buy. I went with the FZ-18 and I cannot wait for it to get here.

I need to also order a memory card/cardsand I do not understand much about the sd vs. sdhc and also the class 2, 4, 6. I have always used Kingston cards and they have served my purpose well but the ones I have are small 512mb and slow. I want to order one good 4Gb or maybe 2 good 2Gb cards to go with this camera.

Please tell me exactly which card or cards you would recommend including model number?

Do most of you prefer one large card or two smaller cards?

Also while researching this camera I have read that some people use a filter on this camera. Can someone please explain what this does and if I need to purchase one. To be honest some of the things I read are over my head, I'm just learning.

One more thing, do you know any books that would be good for someone just trying to take a step up from point and shoot?

Thanks everyone so much for all the help.

rachunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 4, 2007, 8:53 PM   #2

rachunter wrote:
Quote:
I finally decided on which camera to buy. I went with the FZ-18 and I cannot wait for it to get here.
Quote:
Thats a nice camera.....I think you will be happy
Quote:

I need to also order a memory card/cardsand I do not understand much about the sd vs. sdhc and also the class 2, 4, 6. I have always used Kingston cards and they have served my purpose well but the ones I have are small 512mb and slow. I want to order one good 4Gb or maybe 2 good 2Gb cards to go with this camera.
Quote:
If you choose SDHC cards you will need a new Card reader.......which is a better method of transfer than using the camera
Quote:

Please tell me exactly which card or cards you would recommend including model number?

Do most of you prefer one large card or two smaller cards?
Quote: