Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jun 2, 2008, 1:41 AM   #1

Hello

I have been using my TZ 1 for a couple of years now. My 2 Kodaks have been banished to the closet most of the time (though I still like them because they still have eye level view finders and my 4x has a optical view finder).

My girl friend is 95% set on buying a TZ-5.

I find it strange that the current selling price for a new TZ 1 is over $300.00 yet a TZ 5 can be bought for less than $300.00

I called Panasonic USA and they were trying to tell me it was due to the fact that the TZ 1 came first it cost more. I told her that a 2007 car nevers sells for more than a similar model 2009.

Am I missing a point regarding my TZ 1 or are the Panasonic people Pana-idiotic? :?

There are a lot of interesting video clips on many Panasonic cameras on You Tube.

"A knee grows in Brooklyn"

BiLL
bill2468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 7, 2008, 11:13 PM   #2

I believe it is due to the fact that the TZ1 is still requarded as toprate camera, and is still saught after. GMO
fireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2008, 12:03 AM   #3

Thanks fireman!

Still hard to accept that a TZ 5 can be bought for less despite all of its bells and whistles!

Are you in Poukipsee (Iknow I spelt it wrong). My favorite place to go for weekends.

Eat at the CIA, all the mansions,Clydes Cider Mill,Mary Flaggler arboritum, Aerodrome. Every thing is along RT 9.

BiLL
Old Jun 8, 2008, 12:36 PM   #4

I have to disagree with Fireman. Again using the car analogy, who would want to buy last year's Honda Civic if this years has more HP and better fuel mileage for the same price?

Simple supply and demand my friend,
There's very little TZ1's around and no one wants to buy them because there's just so many other better cameras now. Low supply equals higher price. Hence, the higher price.

modifierwong is offline   Reply With Quote