Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Dec 15, 2008, 8:12 PM   #1

I am a novice photographer and recently I purchased a Canon A590IS and I found it to an excellent camera for the price I paid for.
I may be travelling soon I would like to buy anonther camera to complement this one. One camera comes to mind is the FZ28. While reading a no. of reviews on this camera I came across a comparison between FZ28 and SX10 at this website.
http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Pa..._results.shtml

By looking at the images from these 2 cameras, it seems the SX10 has an edge over the FZ28 in terms of image reproduction. As I don't under a lot of terms used in the article, can any comment on the accuracy of their comments? Is it a fair comparison?

To the comparison more complicated, in other sites I came across some users prefer FZ28 to SX10.
ttan98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 15, 2008, 9:16 PM   #2

Is there such a thing as "Fair" and "unbiased" on the internet? I don't at this point thinkI'm going to let myself start to believe it.

Don't be fooled...ANYONE who posts onehas a point to make in doing "comparisons", "tests", "this vs. that", whatever you want to call it. ANY camera can be set up to produce equally good results. If it isn't sharp enough at the default setting, you turn sharpening up in-camera or sharpen later on the computer. Colors not bold enough? Turn the settings up in-cameraor fix them later on the computer. Images too flat with not enough contrast? They all have that setting that can be adjusted too. The last thing anyone needs to base a decision on are results at default settings of two cameras made by different makers. I seriously doubt default parameters are the optimum setting on ANY camera.