Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Apr 19, 2009, 1:41 AM   #1

Trying to learn how to do macro shots on my new fz28. Critique, criticism and advice are not only welcome, but requested!

Kilarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 19, 2009, 8:18 PM   #2

Very nice photo.
gwrentch03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2009, 4:02 AM   #3

Did you use an add-on (Raynox or thread-in diopter) for this? At what distance from the subject were you?

As I'm an electronics tech who'll be doing occasional related macro work, I've been hunting online for circuit board macro images made with this camera, particularly extreme closeups of surface mount components and pcb traces.

The only one I could find is at http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Pa...e_images.shtml of their standard macro test subject.
Their pic doesn't exactly show lettering on the SMD's very clearly, nor does it target specific SMD's or groups of traces. They merely showed crops of the wider scene. I don't suppose you have any modern-ish circuit boards around, do ya?

Lazy Lens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2009, 9:31 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwrentch03
Very nice photo.
Thanks! I'm trying very hard to figure out how to use a camera properly. But I'm still having the occasional problem with depth of field, focus, and especially, exposure. Which means, I'm still learning EVERYTHING!

BUT, the rule of digital photography is, if you take enough photos, a few will turn out ok just by chance.

But I'm finding that the fz28 is really helping me learn. I can let it take over much of the decision making while I play with aperture or exposure or whatever. And it makes most setting quite easy to play with. So I'm learning a lot, and I'm really LOVING this camera!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazy Lens
Did you use an add-on (Raynox or thread-in diopter) for this? At what distance from the subject were you?